President Duterte leads the awarding ceremony for the fallen SAF 44

Published by Radio Television Malacañang – RTVM

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte leads the awarding ceremony for the 44 fallen troops of the Philippine National Police (PNP) Special Action Force (SAF) at the Heroes Hall in Malacañan Palace on April 17, 2018.

The Commander-in-Chief, together with Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Officer-in-Charge (OIC) Undersecretary Eduardo Año and PNP Chief Director General Ronald Dela Rosa, present the PNP Medals of Valor and Magalong Medals to the families of the SAF 44 troops.

The Magalong Medal, which is the highest in precedence in the Order of Lapu Lapu, is bestowed on officials and personnel of the government who exhibited extraordinary service or have made exceptional contributions to the success of an activity pursuant to a campaign or advocacy of the President.

Likewise, the PNP Medal of Valor is the highest award of the PNP, which is awarded to any of its members who have executed a deed of personal bravery and self-sacrifice above and beyond the call of duty so conspicuous as to distinguish himself clearly above his comrades in the performance of more than ordinary hazardous service. This award may be given only if the enemy force is so overwhelming as compared to the government troops.

Let us know what you think of the story...